Trashing Temples (True Beauty)

April 3, 2007

As I’ve been working on my year-end research paper on blogging, I’ve encountered a lot of conflicting information on it. Essentially — is it good or bad? I don’t believe that can be answered as it can be either, depending on how it’s used. A little bit of information I found saddened me though.

“Basically today I went 24 hours without food and then I ate green beans and a little baked ziti. Frankly I’m proud of myself, not to mention the 100 situps on the yoga ball and the 100 I’ll do before sleep Yey for me.” –Ready, Steady, Diet (More)

There’s a difference between dieting and slowly killing your body. These young women are giving into eating disorders that will ruin their body and image even more. How can our society allow this?

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body.” -1 Corinthians 6:19,20

Somehow I don’t see how hurting yourself is honoring to God and the body He gave you. Frankly, a large part of this problem is caused by pop culture. (Not just the genre, the entire culture.) Do you know that nearly none of those skinny models and singers are truly as beautiful as they appear in the photos? Tons of makeup plus hours of editing on the computer.

You’re made beautiful without your makeup. Don’t cover that beauty.

Leave a Reply

